Jones College’s student newspaper wins more than 30 awards, including one for General Excellence

(The following press release and photo were submitted from Jones College.) ELLISVILLE - Jones College’s newspaper staff won the General Excellence award as well as a total of 31 awards at the annual Student Better Newspaper Contest held with the O.C. McDavid Journalism Summit at the Hilton Jackson Feb. 7. This is the 12th consecutive year the Radionian student newspaper has earned the top award in the state. First place awards were given to Jordan Butler and Baylee Walter for best editorials; Bailey Morris for best feature story; Rayia Bilello for best sports photo; Karmen Davidson for best news photo; Heidi Boot for best news story; Jordan Butler for best general interest column and for

Swan Song: What's the hold-up?

(Toggle closed captions on and off through the video player settings.) I took my daughter to get her driver's license a couple of weeks ago. We arrived when it opened at 8 a.m. The line had already formed outside. We got in, took a number, and sat down waiting for the other 30 or so people in front of us to take care of their business. Our number was called about 11:30. Now, this was at a satellite facility I assume was set up to help ease overcrowding. My daughter finally got her license but that’s a story for another day. If you read social media, the criticism of DMV offices is off the charts. During our visit, the workers were nice enough -- just overwhelmed. Well, the Legislature

JSU president resigns

FOX23 News has learned Dr. William Bynum has resigned as Jackson State University's president -- after being arrested on prostitution-related charges. Bynum tendered his resignation to Mississippi's Board of Trustees of State Institutions of Higher Learning Monday. The board named Thomas Hudson JSU's acting president


Subscribe for Updates

  • Facebook App Icon
  • Twitter App Icon
  • Instagram Social Icon
RSS Feed

WHPM/FOX23 is a proud member of the ADP

120 North 40th Avenue

Hattiesburg, MS 39401


Waypoint Media

© 2020 WHPM-TV