State of Emergency

December 12, 2017


HATTIESBURG, MISS. - Several counties and municipalities declared a state of emergency over the weekend because of the snow and icy conditions.  Forrest, Lamar, and Jones counties as well as Hattiesburg and Petal declared states of emergency for their areas.  The designation allowed the government entities to use resources, money, and equipment during the winter storm.  Hattiesburg will officially vote on the declaration at its meeting a week from Tuesday.  Hattiesburg, Petal, and Laurel received in excess of five inches of snow Friday.



Please reload

Toggle Closed Captions on/off through the YouTube video player settings


Please reload

Subscribe for Updates

  • Facebook App Icon
  • Twitter App Icon
  • Instagram Social Icon
RSS Feed

WHPM/FOX23 is a proud member of the ADP

120 North 40th Avenue

Hattiesburg, MS 39401


Waypoint Media

© 2020 WHPM-TV