School closings, early dismissals for January 16

January 16, 2018

(Note for officials: Please send press releases or other notes on closures to from your work account.  Thanks.)




Public schools


Covington County Schools: Dismissing early at noon.


Forrest County Schools: Dismissing early at 12:30 p.m.


Forrest County Agricultural High School:  Dismissing early at 12:45 p.m.


Hattiesburg Schools: Dismissing at the following times --  Lillie Burney at noon, Mary Bethune at 12:10 p.m., Burger Middle at 12:15 p.m., PK-5 elementary schools at 12:30 p.m., Hattiesburg High at 1:00 p.m.
Jefferson Davis County Schools: Closed.


Jones County Schools: Dismissing at 1 p.m.


Lamar County Schools: Dismissing two and a half hours early from normal dismissal time


Laurel City Schools: Laurel High School dismissing at noon, Laurel Middle School dismissing at 12:15 p.m. and elementary schools dismissing at 12:45 p.m.


Petal Schools: Grades K-6 will dismiss at 11:30 a.m.; grades 7-12 will dismiss at 1 p.m.


Perry County Schools: Dismissing at 1 p.m.


Prentiss Christian School: Closed.


Rawls Springs Attendance Center: Dismissing early at 11:45 a.m.


Smith County School District: Closed.


Stone County Schools: Dismissing at 12:45 p.m.


Universities and colleges

Southern Miss: Main Hattiesburg campus will close at noon.


JCJC: Classes dismiss at main Ellisville Campus at 12:45 p.m.; offices and departments will close at 1:00 p.m.; dorm students will remain on campus; Sodexo services for dorm students will remain in operation.  Jones College Early Childcare Lab closing at 11:30 am.  JCJC Advanced Technology Center - Closing at 4:30 p.m.; Pearson Testing Lab remains open.  JCJC at Clarke County closing at 12:00 p.m.; JCJC at Greene County closing at 12:30 p.m.; JCJC at Jasper County closing at 11:00 a.m.; JCJC at Wayne County closing at 1:00 p.m.


Wednesday's DECA District 4 competition at JCJC has been postponed (no word about rescheduling).


PRCC at JCJC basketball games postponed until the afternoon of January 20.


PRCC: All locations will close at 12:30 p.m.; Residence halls on the Poplarville campus will remain open; PRCC will delay opening on Wednesday until 10 a.m.


Other closings

Laurel Christian School: Early release times at 11:30 a.m. for pre-school, 11:45 a.m. for K5-3rd grade, noon for 4th-6th grade, 12:15 p.m. for 7th-12th grade.


Laurel-Jones County Library and Ellisville Public Library: Closed today and Wednesday


Petal 3D School: Early dismissal at 12:30 p.m.



Please reload

Toggle Closed Captions on/off through the YouTube video player settings


Please reload

Subscribe for Updates

  • Facebook App Icon
  • Twitter App Icon
  • Instagram Social Icon
RSS Feed

WHPM/FOX23 is a proud member of the ADP

120 North 40th Avenue

Hattiesburg, MS 39401


Waypoint Media

© 2020 WHPM-TV