top of page

C-USA releases Southern Miss football schedule for 2020

(The following is a press release from the University of Southern Mississippi.)

HATTIESBURG, Miss. – Southern Miss welcomes a new regional rival as well as an old in-state foe as part of its six-game home slate, Wednesday, with the release of the school’s 2020 football schedule by Conference USA.

The Golden Eagles open their 104th football campaign at home for the fifth time over the last six years, Sept. 5, with the initial meeting with regional rival South Alabama at Carlisle-Faulkner Field at M.M. Roberts Stadium.

The South Alabama contest begins the first of three-straight home games to open the year, as Louisiana Tech comes to The Rock to start Conference USA play, Sept. 12. The homestand ends the following weekend, Sept. 19, when in-state foe Jackson State returns to Hattiesburg for the second time in three seasons. Southern Miss then takes to the road for the first time the following weekend when they travel to Auburn, Sept. 26, for its second appearance there under Jay Hopson. The road swing continues, Oct. 3, with a road tilt at C-USA West foe North Texas.

The Golden Eagles then play four more games in October, two at home and two on the road, with Florida Atlantic (Oct. 10) and Rice (Oct. 31) coming to Hattiesburg, while heading to UTEP (Oct. 17) and first-time opponent Liberty (Oct. 24) on consecutive weekends.

After the team’s lone off weekend, Nov. 7, Southern Miss returns to the road with a trip to face league foe WKU (Nov. 14), before playing its final regular-season home schedule against UTSA (Nov. 21). The regular season concludes in Birmingham the following week when the Golden Eagles make their final visit to Legion Field to take on league rival UAB (Nov. 28). The Blazers are expected in their new playing facility in 2021.

The 14-team alignment for the 2020 season will again feature each team playing eight conference games, along with four non-league contests. The 2020 alignment features seven teams in the East Division and seven teams in the West Division. Charlotte, FIU, Florida Atlantic, Marshall, Middle Tennessee, Old Dominion and WKU comprise the East Division, while Louisiana Tech, North Texas, Rice, Southern Miss, UAB, UTEP and UTSA make up the West Division. Each school plays every team in its division once for six games, while playing two cross-over opponents from the opposite division. It is important to note that all games are subject to date changes and some dates are expected to move in the coming weeks in order accommodate national television. A schedule of televised games will be released at a later date. Conference USA's 16th annual Championship Game, pitting the champions of the East and West Divisions, is scheduled for Saturday, December 5. More information about the 2020 Southern Miss football season, including season ticket renewals and new season ticket packages, will be available soon.



Toggle Closed Captions on/off through the YouTube video player settings

bottom of page