top of page

Gov. Reeves announces disaster assistance to local residents, businesses after Dec. 2019 storms

(The following is a press release from the Mississippi governor's office.)

JACKSON – Today, Governor Tate Reeves announced disaster assistance for Mississippi businesses and residents hit by severe weather and tornadoes on December 16, 2019. Working to help Mississippians recover from the devastation, Governor Reeves sent a letter to Administrator Jovita Carranza at the U.S. Small Business Administration (SBA) requesting a disaster declaration to make loans available to those impacted. The declaration covers Jones County and the following Pine Belt counties: Covington, Forrest, Jasper, Perry, Smith, and Wayne. Residents and businesses in those counties can apply for low-interest disaster loans from SBA. “Mississippians are strong, but they should never have to go it alone. When one of us is struggling, we stand up and hold out a helping hand to our fellow man. The people and businesses in the Pine Belt are still recovering from the recent devastation and deserve that helping hand. Working with the U.S. Small Business Administration, I am committed to helping Mississippi businesses and communities get back on their feet whenever disaster strikes,” said Governor Reeves. Applicants may apply online using the Electronic Loan Application (ELA) via SBA’s secure website at Businesses and individuals may also obtain information and loan applications by calling the SBA’s Customer Service Center at 1-800-659-2955 (1-800-877-8339 for the deaf and hard-of-hearing), or by emailing



Toggle Closed Captions on/off through the YouTube video player settings

bottom of page