top of page

Jones College’s student newspaper wins more than 30 awards, including one for General Excellence

(The following press release and photo were submitted from Jones College.)

ELLISVILLE - Jones College’s newspaper staff won the General Excellence award as well as a total of 31 awards at the annual Student Better Newspaper Contest held with the O.C. McDavid Journalism Summit at the Hilton Jackson Feb. 7. This is the 12th consecutive year the Radionian student newspaper has earned the top award in the state. First place awards were given to Jordan Butler and Baylee Walter for best editorials; Bailey Morris for best feature story; Rayia Bilello for best sports photo; Karmen Davidson for best news photo; Heidi Boot for best news story; Jordan Butler for best general interest column and for best cartoon; Dylan Jones for best sports news; and best graphic, best front page and best investigative package. Hannah Chaffee had a clean sweep with first, second and third place in sports features. Second place awards were given to Bailey Morris for best feature photo and best general news photo; Tori Ellis, best general news story; Dylan Jones, best sports news story and best sports column; Michael Blanks, best general interest column; Rayia Bilello, best sports photo; best advertisement; best layout and design, best cartoon and best investigative news package. Third place awards were given to Tori Ellis, best general news story; Olivia Ward, best sports news story; Karmen Davidson, best general news photo; Bailey Morris, best website; best advertisement category and best graphic category. Last March, the college’s newspaper, the Radionian, won first place in the two-year newspaper category at the annual national College Media Association David Adams Apple Awards. The newspaper will compete again this March. The newspaper is taking applications for next fall. Students interested in joining should contact advisor Kelly Atwood at

Pictured left to right, front row, are Jordan Butler of Ellisville, opinions editor; Michael Blanks of Ellisville, features editor; Heidi Boot of Ellisville, entertainment editor; Dylan Jones of Leakesville, sports editor; back row, staff members Braxton Wallis of Brookhaven, Yvonna Paez Mendez of Miami, Florida; Hayden Graves of Columbia; Corey Blue of Laurel; and bobcat press editor, Bailey Morris of Pachuta. Not pictured: Tori Ellis of Laurel, Caleb Harris of Jackson, Hannah Chaffee of Pearl, Rayia Bilello of Meridian and Karmen Davidson of Quitman.



Toggle Closed Captions on/off through the YouTube video player settings

bottom of page